Punjabi Department

ਤੇਰੀਮਾਖਿਉਂਮਿੱਠੀਬੋਲੀਦੀ, ਜੀਅਕਰਦਿਆਂਸਿਫਤਨਾਰੱਜਦਾਹੈ।

ਉਰਦੂਹਿੰਦੀਦੀਆਂਪਾਲਾਂਵਿਚ, ਸੁਰਤਾਲਤੇਰਾਹੀਵੱਜਦਾਹੈ। – ਧਨੀਰਾਮਚਾਤ੍ਰਿਕ

Your tongue, sweet as honey, is beyond praise,

From the musical sounds of Hindi and Urdu, your rhythm resonates

The script of Punjabi language is Gurmukhi which literally means ‘from the mouth of Gurus’. It is an Indo-Aryan language like many other modern languages of South Asia. It is spoken by as many as 140 million people, meaning that it is one of the top ten languages in the world by number of speakers.
In Persian, the word “Punjabi” means “five waters,” referring to the five major rivers found in the region where Punjabi language originated. Punjabi is one of the 22 regional languages of India notified in the eight schedule of the Constitution of India. It is an official language in Punjab but also spoken in major parts of Pakistan and in small pockets of most of Indian states. It is also a second language in Canada’s Ontario and Vancouver B.C. Majority of Punjabi population in some colonies of Surrey in Canada, South Hall in England also speak Punjabi.

The Department was established in 1971 and the Post-Graduation course was started in 2001.

Courses Offered:

Under-Graduation :  Punjabi is compulsory subject for all streams.
Post-Graduation    :   M.A Punjabi